Unified Patent Court judicial appointments and Presidium elections

19 October 2022

Today, the Unified Patent Court confirms the appointment of a total of 85 judges (34 legally qualified judges and 51 technically qualified judges) to take up their duties as of the entry into force of the UPC Agreement.

In addition, the Court is honoured to share the composition of its Presidium, elected in accordance with its Statute.

The Court will be led by Mr Klaus Grabinski (DE), as President of the Court of Appeal, and Ms Florence Butin (FR), as President of the Court of First Instance. The Presidium is completed by two judges from the Court of Appeal: Ms Rian Kalden (NL) and Ms Ingeborg Simonsson (SE) and three judges from the Court of First Instance: Ms Camille Lignieres (FR), Mr Ronny Thomas (DE) and Mr Peter Tochtermann (DE). In addition, Ms Rian Kalden has been elected as Presiding judge of the second panel of the Court of Appeal.

The Presidium will take up its duties in advance of the start of operations of the Court.

The list of appointed judges below is the result of an extensive selection process concluded by the adoption, by the Administrative Committee, of the list of most suitable candidate judges as proposed by the UPC's Advisory Committee.

The following Legally Qualified judges have been appointed to the Court of Appeal:

Mr Klaus Grabinski (DE)

Ms Françoise Barutel (FR)

Mr Peter Blok (NL)

Ms Emanuela Germano (IT)

Ms Rian Kalden (NL)

Ms Patricia Rombach (DE)

Ms Ingeborg Simonsson (SE)

The following Legally qualified judges have been appointed to the Court of First Instance:

- Seat of the central division in Paris:

Ms Florence Butin (FR)

Mr Paolo Catallozzi (IT)

Mr Maximilian Haedicke (DE)

Ms Tatyana Zhilova (BG)

Post to be filled before start of Court's operations

- Section of the central division in Munich:
Ms Mélanie Bessaud (FR)
Ms Ulrike Voß (DE)
Post to be filled before start of Court's operations
- Local division Vienna:
Mr Walter Schober (AT)
Local division Pruggalay
- Local division Brussels: Mr Samuel Cranata (RE)
Mr Samuel Granata (BE)
- Local division Copenhagen :
Post to be filled before start of Court's operation (DK)
- Local division Helsinki:
Mr Petri Rinkinen (FI)
- Local division Paris:
Ms Carine Gillet (FR)
Ms Camille Lignieres (FR)
- Local division Düsseldorf:
Ms Bérénice Thom (DE)
Mr Ronny Thomas (DE)
- Local division Hamburg:
Ms Sabine Klepsch (DE)
Mr Stefan Schilling (DE)
Will Oldfall Germining (DE)
- Local division Mannheim:
Mr Holger Kircher (DE)
Mr Peter Michael Tochtermann (DE)
- Local division Munich:
Mr Tobias Pichlmaier (DE)
Mr Matthias Zigann (DE)

- Local division Milan (IT):
Mr Pierluigi Perrotti (IT)
Ms Alima Zana (IT)
- Local division The Hague:
Mr Edger Brinkman (NL)
Ms Margot Kokke (NL)
- Local division Lisbon:
Ms Rute Lopes (PT)
- Local division Ljubljana:
Ms Mojca Mlakar (SI)
- Nordic-Baltic Regional Division (EE, LT, LV, SE):
Ms Kai Härmand (EE)
Mr Stefan Johansson (SE)
The following technically qualified judges have been appointed, as per field of technology:
- Biotechnology:
Mr Arwed Andreas Burrichter (DE)
Mr Eric Enderlin (FR)
Mr Rainer Friedrich (DE)
Mr Paolo Gerli (IT)
Mr Krister Karlsson (FI)
Mr András Kupecz (NL)
Mr Roman Maksymiw (DE)
Mr Cornelis Schüller (NL)
- Chemistry and Pharmaceutics:
Mr Michael Alt (DE)
Ms Kirsikka Etuaho (FI)
Mr Renaud Fulconis (FR)
Mr Rudi Goedeweeck (BE)

Mr John Meidahl Petersen (DK)
Ms Stefanie Parchmann (DE)
Ms Laure Sarlin (FR)
Mr Casper Struve (DK)
Mr Steen Wadskov-Hansen (DK)
Ms Carola Wagner (DE)
- Electricity:
Mr Pascal Attali (FR)
Mr Eric Augarde (FR)
Mr Bertrand Cochet (FR)
Mr Grégoire Desrousseaux (FR)
Mr Alain Dumont (BE) (take up of duties as of 1 Nov 2023)
Mr Dennis Kretschmann (DE)
Mr Alessandro Sanchini (IT)
Mr Andrea Scilletta (IT)
Mr Simon Walker (FI)
- Mechanical Engineering:
Mr Michel Abello (FR)
Mr Uwe Ausfelder (DE)
Mr Koen Callewaert (BE)
Mr Giorgio Checcacci (IT)
Mr Paolo Ernesto Crippa (IT)
Mr Claus Elmeros (DK)
Mr Frédéric Gaillarde (FR)
Mr Bernard Christiaan Ledeboer (NL)
Ms Elisabetta Papa (IT)
Mr Martin Schmidt (FR/DE)
Mr Uwe Schwengelbeck (DE)
Mr Max Tilmann (DE)
Ms Marie-Paule Vandeberg (BE)
Mr Patrice Vidon (FR)
Mr Pascal Lucien Pierre Weber (FR)
Mr Stefan Wilhelm (DE)
- Physics:
Mr Michael Fleuchaus (DE)

Mr Anders Max Hansson (SE)

Ms Ulrike Keltsch (DE)

Mr Gérard Myon (FR)

Ms Dörte Otten-Dünnweber (DE)

Mr Andrea Perronace (IT)

Mr Christoph Dominik Schober (DE)

Mr Patrik Rydman (SE)

Recruitment

Please click on the link below to consult the opening for the post of Registrar and of Deputy-Registrar of the Unified Patent Court.

Available positions (/content/available-positions)

Postes disponibles (/content/postes-disponibles)

Verfügbare Positionen (/content/verfugbare-positionen)

Cases

Click here to log into the UPC Case Management System (https://cms.unified-patent-court.org/login)

Newsfeed

Click here for an RSS feed of UPC articles (/news.xml)

Latest News

<u>Unified Patent Court judicial appointments and Presidium elections (/news/unified-patent-court-judicial-appointments-and-presidium-elections)</u>

19 October 2022

New Unified Patent Court website launch (/news/new-unified-patent-court-website-launch)

13 October 2022

How to authenticate to the CMS system (/news/how-authenticate-cms-system)

12 October 2022

<u>Case Management System: New link to test your authentication device (/news/case-management-system-new-link-test-your-authentication-device)</u>

10 October 2022

<u>Latest state of play in view of the launch of the Unified Patent Court (/news/latest-state-play-view-launch-unified-patent-court)</u>

06 October 2022

See all news (/news) »

terms and conditions (/content/terms-and-conditions)

privacy policy (/content/privacy-policy)

©2022 unified patent court